Roti

Whatever you may call it… roti, chapati, indian bread… I have to admit that I am not a lover of roti.  My hubby and most other people I know love a good roti with curry and a lot of other meals. My first experience with roti was when I got married (never made them before as my brilliant mom of a cook always made them). It definitely wasn’t the best and not the worst in my opinion!

Nothing is better than trying – I can promise you that. I thought I would give up on making roti because my attempts were not good enough but then I tried another recipe, and hmmmm…. yummylicious!!!

This recipe is soft, can be frozen and when re-heated doesn’t get rubbery or hard… go on, try it and let me know what you think.

Roti Recipe:

5 cups flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup oil
3/4 of a 125g piece of margarine, cut into cubes
boiling water to make a soft luscious dough

I usually halve this recipe and it pulls out approximately 10-12 (side plate size rotis) depending on the size.

Put flour, salt, oil and margarine into a big bowl and rub together – it should look like breadcrumbs. As soon as your kettle has boiled add the water. Add about a cup first. I don’t usually measure – I  just pour and mix – yes, it is boiling hot so use a wooden spoon if you want.

The dough should be soft not sticky but if it does turn out a bit sticky not to worry – flour your surface and throw your dough onto the floured surface and mix well. If you require more flour add in a little at a time.

Roll out the dough with your hands as if you were rolling a giant sausage – and cut pieces of the same size. Leave aside and sprinkle with flour.

Get your rolling pin out and roll each piece out – not too thin and not too thick – in the mean time you should get your pan ready on the stove (I use a frying pan but you can use a tawa if you have one). Also, in a cup melt some oil and ghee (clarified butter) or butter/margarine.

Once you have your roti rolled out fry in the pan – lift to see the under side of the roti – once its light in color – this will look like tiny spots of light brown dots apprearing – turn the roti over – drizzle with the oil mixture and spread with the back of the spoon – do not put too much else you going to be left with oily roti and we don’t want that. Flip the roti over again – let it fry on the smeared side and smear a little on the other side of the roti – flip again let it fry a bit then toss out into a container that is lined with a damp cloth. Cover the cooked rotis as they get done.

That was a little difficult to explain but if you have never made roti before and wish to try feel free to contact me for help!

Enjoy these with curries or anything you like. I am sure lots you love fresh hot rotis smeared with butter and sprinkled with sugar or jam…

Leave a Reply

