Eggless Royal Icing

So… my cookies are usually eggless but my royal icing is always made with egg. That’s what makes it set rock hard on the biscuits.

I received an order and the customer said it has to be eggless… yes, it is eggless…. eeek! Not! I only realised after a while and so started my online search on an eggless sweet glue, I even asked a few of my contacts.

And then i stumbled upon a site http://www.mydiversekitchen.com and that is where I found an eggless royal icing recipe.

Here is the recipe, slightly adapted:

Eggless Royal Icing:
1 cup icing sugar
2 tsp cornflour
2 tsp lemon juice
1 tsp water
1/4 tsp tylose

Mix the icing sugar and cornflour in a bowl. Add the lemon juice and mix. If the icing is too thick add little drops of water at a time until you get a thick consistency. Your icing is ready when you ‘cut’ through the icing with your spoon or let the icing treacle off your spoon and if it keeps its shape you good to go!

Pour the icing into a piping bag, snip and decorate.

I was so chuffed that the icing became rock hard. Shew!

(pictures to follow)

Leave a Reply

