French Bread

Yeast! …  Eeeek! lol… that use to be me until I decided to give it my all and at least try. I love working with yeast checking out new recipes for breads, rolls, sweet buns, etc.

It really isn’t as intimidating as the recipes look – I have a few more yeast recipes I would like to share. I make my dough by hand as I don’t own a bread machine!

These are really good baguettes.

6 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup yogurt
1 Tblsp yeast (1 sachet)
1/2 cup warm water
1 Tbl salt
Cornmeal (optional)

Place yeast in water and leave to dissolve 5 minutes – it should be foaming and frothy Looking. In a big dish –  mix water, salt and yogurt. Combine yeast and add 4 cups flour. Mix remaining flour and knead – 10mins. Add more flour if necessary.

Place dough in oiled dish, cover and leave to rise in warm place. Once risen to double its size punch down and make rolls. Use small longish pieces or how big you want.

Place on an oiled tray, cover lightly and leave to rise again. Make slits on top of loaves and brush with some milk. Bake 180 degrees for 30-40 minutes or till lightly browned.

If you don’t have yogurt –  take 1 cup milk with about a Tblsp of vinegar… Wait a few minutes and you good to go or even buttermilk, maas I guess will be fine too.

This is just like a baguette – crispy tops and it makes a lot. If you make 2 loaves it gets too big – I suggest make 4 rolls long and not tooooo thin. It will rise again on the second rise and in the oven.

IMG-20130215-00101

Recipe: Radio Islam

Leave a Reply

