Baked beans & Chicken Soup

I love a good bowl of soup. I also enjoy trying out new recipes. A friend of mine sent me an unusual kinda soup. I thought it was really interesting because I hadn’t tasted anything like it before. It was spicy, had baked beans, spaghetti, chicken and it wasn’t too watery nor too creamy. I was intrigued, I had to try it! 

 

The wonderful idea of this soup was that it didn’t need a long time to simmer away… The recipe used chakalaka soup – I guess that’s where the spiciness came from. A bit too spicy for my kid so I had to think of using another flavor of soup. I chose white onion soup but I am sure that any flavor would go with this soup. 

 

1 piece chicken fillet, cubed

1/2 tsp crushed garlic

1 tin baked beans

1 packet soup

2 cups milk

2 cups water

10 sticks spaghetti, broken (optional)

1/2 cup frozen corn

1 chilli, deseeded (optional) 

1/4 tsp chilli powder

1/2 tsp coriander fennel powder

Or 1/4 tsp coriander powder & 1/4 tsp fennel powder

Salt 

Pepper

 

Marinate the chicken fillet with all the spices and garlic. Add baked beans, spaghetti and 1 cup water. Leave to simmer until spaghetti is cooked. Add the corn, 1 cup milk and mix the soup powder with the other 1 cup of milk. 

 

If the soup is too thick add a little more milk and water. 

 

Simmer for a few minutes and its ready to serve!

2 thoughts on “Baked beans & Chicken Soup

  1. Salaams Hope you are well.
    Firstly may I say how inspired at your many recipes for which I will definitely be try them out.
    Please may I trouble you for some gift ideas for my 4 lovely sisters for Eid. They are aged 65,57,52 and 39
    I am terrible at choosing or buying gifts and often think that giving money envelopes as an easier option. Plz plz help.
    Jzk
    Rashida

Leave a Reply

