Strawberry cheesecake

IMG-20160316-WA0002

I usually make no bake cheesecakes in little dessert cups but never as 1 whole one. I didn’t know how firm it would be to slice through if I made a big one until I received an order for one.

So, I searched the Internet as I usually do when I’m looking for something out of my comfort zone. I came across so many recipes but my question was – where’s the strawberry flavor?

Then… I found a recipe that has yogurt in it. It sounded good – needed to try it – and guess what – it worked!

Base:
1 packet tennis biscuit, crushed
125 g butter, melted

Filling:
3 tsp gelatin powder
1/3 cup water
250g cream cheese
200ml strawberry yoghurt
1/2 cup castor sugar
300ml  thickened cream whipped

Topping:
1 punnet strawberries
1/2 cup fresh cream, whipped
2-3 tablespoons strawberry jam

Method
For the base, add the biscuits and butter into a food processor and blitz till you have crumbs. Press into a 22-24cm springform tin.

Add the water into a cup and sprinkle gelatin over. Pop into the microwave for about 30 seconds or until dissolved. Watch it all the time as it can bubble over. Leave aside to cool.

Beat softened creamed cheese, yogurt and sugar until smooth.

Beat the fresh cream until thick. Then slowly stream in the gelatin and beat until combined.

Stir in one third of the cream into the yogurt mixture then fold the rest of the cream in. Pour the mixture onto the base, smooth the top and pop into the fridge.

Once set, spread the strawberry jam over the top. Whip the cream and pipe over then decorate with strawberries.

Note:

– If you don’t have tennis biscuits you can use a digestive biscuit or which ever biscuits you prefer for a base.

– You can change the flavour by changing the flavour of the yogurt and the jam. I will be making a peach one this weekend.

– Have fun!

Source: adapted from bestrecipes.com

Leave a Reply

