Roast leg of lamb

I have always eaten a delicious roasted pieces of meat made by others but I wanted to make it too! The only was we are only 2 adults at home and a roast leg is far to much for us. No i don’t want to make the shanks I want to make the whole leg! So, I bought one, yes it’s damn expensive but what isn’t today… So I thought I would make this glorious piece of meat when I had lots of visitors come by – and I did!

The meat turned out beautiful (yes, I had forgotten to take a photo :(), succulent, falling of the bone, sauce, delicious meat…here’s how you can make it too…

Marinate overnight:
1 leg (mine was 3kg)
2 tblspn tomato sauce
1 tblspn steak and chops spice
3 tblspn Worcester sauce
1 tblspn barbecue spice
1 tsp crushed jeera
1 tsp ginger powder
1 tsp garlic salt
2 tblspn crushed garlic
2-3 Tblsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp crushed pepper

Heat 2 tblspn ghee in pot and brown meat on both sides. Leave aside to cool or not, if u in a hurry.

Sauce:
3 tblspn Worcester sauce
1 tblspn crushed garlic
2 tblspn six gun spice
1 tblspn steak and chops spice
1 tblspn barbecue spice
2 -3 tblspn tomato puree
1 tblspn lemon juice
2-3 Tblsp texan spice (wet)
3-4 tblspn spare rib marinade
Salt to taste

Rub sauce on both sides of leg. Add half a cup of water. Sprinkle 1-2 tablespoons crushed red chillies over. Cover pot with foil, place lid on top and cook for 1 hour on 180 degrees then drop heat to 150 degrees for another hour.

DSC_0025

This is the only photo I have. I served the roasted meat with butternut squash and corn drizzled with a butter dressing, rissoni, sliced potatoes with peppers and chilli and khuri kitchri (buttermilk / yogurt mixed with herbs and spices eaten with yellow rice) Recipe for this to follow

Leave a Reply

